3d · Card · Home decor

Showcase

One of the opportunities I have as a demonstrator is to attend gatherings of other demonstrators where we get to meet up and see new products, share ideas and receive training.  At these events some demonstrators are given early access to new products so that they can make samples to show other demonstrators.  In order to do this we have to submit a sample of our work to head office, so that they can choose who they would like.  So I decided to enter for the event that will be held in November.  We have to showcase a limited selection of our work; a 12 x 12 scrapbook page, two 3D items and three card fronts.

I don’t have as much time as I would like for traditional scrapbooking, I have now embraced Project Life!  However I had this photo which I had in mind that I wanted to create a layout for.  It is a picture of my grandmother and grandfather on their wedding day in 1928, and I loved the beautiful flowers and the sepia colours of the photo.  I used the botanical builders framelits and stamp set, and if you look carefully there is a scattering of pearls on a Crumb Cake background, which I felt matched beautifully.

Botanical builders Stampin Up UK

For my 3D items, I found it really hard to decide what to showcase, so in the end I decided on my Ferrero Flower which I was so pleased with and then a new project which I will be blogging soon, which is a mini wine bottle box with a bow made from DSP to co-ordinate. I know the framelits are now retired, however I thought it was a good idea to show how versatile framelits are – they don’t just have to be used for matting and layering.

Ferrero Friday Floral Framelit flower usin Stampin Up uk

This is a project coming up, a mini wine bottle holder, with a bow made from DSP using the star framelits to help!  This could easily hold some perfume or other toiletries too.

image

image

Finally to the cards, we were asked for standard cards and as you know, my real passion is for fancy folds and I would have liked to include my new telescoping card, however as it is not standard size it didn’t fit the brief, so I compromised with these three, although they are all a standard 6 x 4 card, I decided to showcase a fancy fold, a shaker card and one that focuses on a stamping technique.

So here is my pocket fold card, using the lovely Bloomin Love stamp set and coordinating thinlets, the paper is now retired Love Blossoms, but I am waiting to get my hands on some of the new DSP so that I can recreate. The banner is made by shaping the photopolymer stamp to a curve to fit the new banner punch, with a hand cut heart to accent.

image

The second card is a shaker card, using the new Affectionately Yours DSP and Watermelon Wonder. The sweetheart punch is used for the aperture and the accents with the confetti heart border for the tiny hearts in the  shaker along with a few sequins for sparkle.

image

Finally here is a card showing the new hostess stamp set, with craft ink used to create a soft layered look with a watercolour wash for the grass. I’ve used one of the beautiful new In colours Flirty Flamingo.

Hostess Stampin Up UK floral card gift of love

We only get told if we are successful in our application and as it is some months away, I am guessing we won’t find out for some time.  Either way, I’ll let you know how I get on in November, as even if I am not successful, there will be lots of new products and ideas to share with you then, and if I am successful, we have to keep it all secret so we don’t spoil the surprise of the new catalogue content.

Leave a Reply

